Maldon Archive
Keeping the Past Alive


Bradwell-on-Sea  is a village and civil parish in Essex, England. The village is on the Dengie peninsula. It is located about 9 km (5.6 mi) north-northeast of Southminster and is 30 km (19 mi) east from the county town of Chelmsford. The village is in the District of Maldon in the parliamentary constituency of Maldon whose boundaries were last varied at the United Kingdom General Election, 2010. It has a population of 877  Bradwell-on-Sea was a Saxon Shore fort in Roman times known as Othona. The Anglo-Saxons originally called it Ithancester. Saint Cedd founded a monastery within the old walls in 653, which survives as the restored chapel of St Peter-on-the-Wall, one of the oldest churches in Britain. From there, he continued the evangelisation of Essex. In the 20th century, the village became more well known as the site for the Bradwell nuclear power station. It also has a very good sailing club and outdoor leisure facilities.

There is a school - St. Cedd's Church of England Primary School. The village has been called Bradwell juxta Mare, Bradwell-next-the-Sea and Bradwell near the Sea.

RAF Bradwell Bay is a former second war world Royal Air Force station. The airfield was first used as grass landing strip for the nearby firing ranges before being turned into a RAF station with concrete runways and hangars. The station is unique as it was the only fighter station where the Fog Investigation and Dispersal Operation (FIDO) was used. Part of the site is currently being used by the Bradwell nuclear power station. Several of the hangars are still used as storage by the local farmers and the control tower is now a private house. Agricultural buildings, built in the '70s and '80s on runways one and two, are now home to several local businesses.

The Squadrons based there were:

No. 418 Squadron RCAF. No. 23 Squadron RAF, No. 29 Squadron RAF.  No. 157 Squadron RAF.

No. 247 Squadron RAF.  No. 56 Squadron RAF .No. 198 Squadron RAF. No. 488 Squadron RAF.

No. 605 Squadron RAF. No. 219 Squadron RAF .No. 278 Squadron RAF No. 124 Squadron RAF.

No. 501 Squadron RAF, No. 151 Squadron RAF and  No. 287 Squadron RAF.